Skip to main content

National and Thematic Reviews

Find details of our published national and thematic reports on the links below.

We publish a range of national and thematic reports every year.

Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards – Annual Monitoring Report for Health and Social Care 2018-19

This is the tenth joint annual monitoring with Care Inspectorate Wales.

12 August 2020
Mental Health, Learning Disability Hospitals and Mental Health Act Monitoring Annual Report 2018-2019

Read the findings from our mental health hospitals, learning disability and Mental Health Act inspections during 2018-2019

20 January 2020
National Review of Prevention and Promotion of Independence for Older Adults (over 65) Living in the Community

This National Review comprises of 11 Separate Local Authority Area Inspections.

4 October 2019
Review of Integrated Care: Focus on Falls

We have published our latest national review – Review of Integrated Care: Focus on Falls.

13 September 2019
National review of maternity services

HIW have launched a national review of maternity services across Wales.

30 July 2019
Healthcare Inspectorate Wales (HIW) and Wales Audit Office (WAO) Joint Review of Quality Governance Arrangements at Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board

HIW and WAO have undertaken a joint review of quality governance arrangements at Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board.

18 July 2019
Mental Health, Learning Disability Hospitals and Mental Health Act Monitoring Annual Report 2017-2018

Read the findings from our mental health hospitals, learning disability and Mental Health Act inspections during 2017-18

16 July 2019
Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards – Annual Monitoring Report for Health and Social Care 2017-18

A joint report between ourselves and Care Inspectorate Wales

2 May 2019
Annual Report: Ionising Radiation (Medical Exposures) Regulations (IR(ME)R) 2017-2018

This report summarises the findings from our Ionising Radiation (Medical Exposures) Regulations (IR(ME)R) 2017-2018

5 April 2019
HIW publishes review of healthcare services for young people

Healthcare Inspectorate Wales (HIW) today publishes its thematic report: ‘How are healthcare services meeting the needs of young people?’ HIW has made 37 recommendations for improvement

29 March 2019
Last updated: